Monday, December 30, 2013

New Music Tuesday - December 10, 2013

New Full-Length Releases

Brendan Benson - You Were Right

Brendan Benson has has as long a career as his Raconteurs bandmate Jack White, having released his debut in 1996. However, he's  flown under most people's radars. You Were Right is his sixth album and his sound continues to be rewarding.

Listen: "Rejuvenate Me"
Listen: "Red White and Blues"

Robert Pollard - Blazing Gentlemen

Pollard's insane prolific-ness will not be stopping anytime soon. With Guided By Voices, he released English Little League in April and will release another, Motivational Jumpsuit, in February. In the meantime, we get another solo release from him!

Listen: "Blazing Gentlemen"
Listen: "Return of the Drums"

Other New Releases

!!! - "And Anyways It's Christmas"

Every year the list of artists putting out Christmas songs or albums seems to get stranger and stranger. This year's most prominent Christmas release comes from !!! (chk-chk-chk), who released a full-length album, Thriller, in April of this year.

Listen: "Any Anyways It's Christmas"

Arctic Monkeys - "One for the Road"/"You're So Dark"

The Arctic Monkeys made a lot of people very happy (myself included) when they released their fifth album, AM, in September. To follow up that release, they're releasing a single from the album with a great new song that didn't quite make the cut.

Watch: "One for the Road"
Listen: "You're So Dark"

Eric Clapton - Give Me Strength: The '74/'75 Recordings

"Give Me Strength" is one of the tracks from Clapton's iconic 1974 album 461 Ocean Boulevard. This new release features the recordings from that album, along with a broader collection of Clapton songs recorded live in Long Beach, Nassau and London.

Listen: "Motherless Children"
Listen: "Give Me Strength"

Jeff The Brotherhood - Past 7" Recordings

This brother duo has released a series of 7" singles throughout their 12-year career. This box set brings those various releases together into one collection.

Listen: "Cancer Killer"
Listen: "The Tropics"

Mexican Summer: Five Years

Mexican Summer is an independent record label that has put out releases from Best Coast, Daniel Lopatin, Tamaryn, No Joy, Kurt Vile and many others; and they are celebrating their five-year anniversary. To commemmorate, they have released a limited-edition book, which comes with an LP with songs from some of the label's artists.

Listen: Autre Ne Veut and Fennesz - "Alive"

Peter Morén - Broken Swenglish, Vol. 1 EP

Peter Morén has become known as the lead singer of Peter Bjorn and John, and has three albums to his name as a solo artist. Starting this year, he will be putting out a series of solo Broken Swenglish EPs.

Listen: "Constant Reaction"

Serengeti - C.A.B.

Serengeti is a Chicago-based alternative rapper who I became familiar with when he worked with Sufjan Stevens and Son Lux as S / S / S. He has also had long solo career. Just in time for Christmas, he is releasing a free followup EP to last year's C.A.R.

Listen: "In Love with a Woman"
Listen: "Find My Peace"

Sides of Chaz - "Sweet Tea"/"Take My Car"

Sides of Chaz is a new project from Toro Y Moi's Chaz Bundick. I guess he would like us to see a new side to him apart from his synthpop main act. It's just a couple of songs right now, but it will be interesting to see how it may expand as a project.

Listen: "Sweet Tea"

Tame Impala - "Be Above It" (Erol Alkan Rework)

Tame Impala released an absolutely incredible album, Lonerism, last year. Rather than giving the full album the remix treatment, they are teasing us with just one song, remixed by London producer Erol Alkan.

Listen: "Be Above It"
Listen: "Be Above It" (Erol Alkan Rework)

You Be My Heart

You Be My Heart is a benefit album for 826, which focuses on creative writing skills for kids. The release features tracks from the likes of Bowerbirds, Mark Kozelek, Maps & Atlases and Marissa Nadler.

Listen: Marissa Nadler - "Half as Much"
Listen: Maps & Atlases - "She's Like a Hologram"

Young Turks 2013

Throughout the year, the label Young Turks put out a series of split singles from its various artists. The finish off the year, they are compiling those tracks into one release. Featured here are Sampha, The xx and SBTRKT.

Listen: The xx - "Reconsider"
Listen: SBTRKT - "IMO"

No comments:

Post a Comment