Saturday, April 21, 2018

New Music Friday - March 9, 2018

Be sure to view a list of upcoming releases here!

Essential Full-Length Releases

August Greene - August Greene

August Greene is a new project from Common, which sees him working again with longtime collaborators Karriem Riggins and Robert Glasper. Bringing pianist Glasper into the fold underscores Common's longtime interest in marrying jazz and hip hop. The debut album from the trio also brings in a new collaborator, and a name that I had not heard in a while, Brandy!

Watch: "Optimistic" (featuring Brandy)
Listen: "Black Kennedy"

Liza Anne - Fine But Dying

Fine But Dying is the third album from this artist from Georgia (the U.S. state). On the record, she deals head-on with past struggles with mental illness and the various interpersonal effects, as well as the conflict between internal state and outward appearance.

Watch: "Paranoia"
Watch: "Closest to Me"

Shamir - Resolution

Resolution was a surprise release from Shamir. He had previously announced an EP, Room, and released a few songs from that project. It's not his first surprise release; last year, he released Hope before the more traditional release cycle of Revelations.

Young Fathers - Cocoa Sugar

Young Fathers are a trio from Edinburgh. Their music is generally described as hip-hop, though that's a limiting descriptor for them. They also incorporate elements of pop, club music, and industrial. Cocoa Sugar is their third record.

Watch: "In My View"
Watch: "Lord"

Other Full-Length Releases

Albert Hammond Jr. - Francis Trouble

Watch: "Muted Beatings"
Watch: "Set to Attack"

David Byrne - American Utopia

Watch: "Everybody’s Coming to My House"
Listen: "This Is That" (featuring Oneohtrix Point Never)

Editors - Violence

Watch: "Hallelujah (So Low)"
Watch: "Magazine"

Nap Eyes - I’m Bad Now

Watch: "Every Time the Feeling"
Watch: "I’m Bad"

of Montreal - White Is Relic/Irrealis Mood

Watch: "Plateau Phase/No Careerism No Corruption"
Watch: "Paranoiac Intervals/Body Dysmorphia"

Singles, EPs, Soundtracks, etc.

David Byrne - Naked in Denver

Guided By Voices - Ogre’s Trumpet

Jimi Hendrix - Both Sides of the Sky

Watch: "Lover Man"
Listen: "Mannish Boy"

Logic - Bobby Tarantino II

Listen: "Wassup" (featuring Big Sean)
Listen: "State of Emergency" (featuring 2 Chainz)

Maria Usbeck - Bosque De Bambú

Listen: "Bosque De Bambú"

Shamir - "Room" 7”

Watch: "Room"
Listen: "Caballero"

Tom Waits - Closing Time Vinyl Reissue

Listen: "Closing Time"
Listen: "Little Trip to Heaven"

Tom Waits - Under the Covers

Listen: "Papa’s Got a Brand New Bag"

You Were Never Really Here: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

Tuesday, April 17, 2018

Upcoming Album of the Week (Ending April 14)

I used to have the goal to hit every major music festival in the US, and maybe even a few abroad. Now, I prefer to stick with festivals hosted in my city (of which there are plenty!). Despite my change of priority, and my issues with the festival, Beyoncé makes a strong case for a future pilgrimage to Indio, CA for Coachella (provided she plays the fest again).

Praise is high for her recent performance there, so if a recording of it ever gets an official release, be sure to check it out on my Upcoming Releases page!

Last week, Arctic Monkeys announced their sixth album, Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino.

At their start, the band were a latter part of the post-punk revival of the mid-aughts, but have veered from that sound since their 2006 debut, Whatever People Say I Am, That Is What I Am Not. Their most recent record, 2013's AM, was the culmination of the change, with a psychedelic hard rock sound.

The band has been on hiatus since the end of their AM tour in 2014. During that time, we've gotten a second album from frontman Alex Turner's side project The Last Shadow Puppets, and drummer Matt Helders worked with Iggy Pop on his latest record.

The band announced their latest record on the fifth along with a trailer (no new songs, yet).

Also announced this week:

Arthur Buck - Arthur Buck (June 15)
Beak> - L.A. Playback (out now)
Bombino - Deran (May 18)
Chromeo - Head Over Heels (June 15)
Cold Cave - You & Me & Infinity EP (June 1)
Destroyer - City of Daughters Vinyl Reissue (May 25)
Destroyer - Thief Vinyl Reissue (May 25)
Dreams (June 15)
Gang Gang Dance - Kazuashita (June 22)
Gang of Four - Complicit (April 20)
Graceland - The Remixes (June 1)
The Horrors - “Fire Escape”/“Water Drop” (out now)
Jenny Hval - The Long Sleep (May 25)
Johnny Marr - Call the Comet (June 15)
Kamasi Washington - Heaven and Earth (June 22)
Kevin Krauter - Toss Up (June 15)
Knxwledge - Gladwement EP (out now)
Lion Babe - “The Wave” (out now)
Los Campesinos! - Hold on Now, Youngster… Vinyl Reissue (October 12)
Los Campesinos! - We Are Beautiful, We Are Doomed Vinyl Reissue (October 12)
LUMP - LUMP (June 1)
Melody’s Echo Chamber - Bon Voyage (June 15)
Oneohtrix Point Never - Age Of (June 1)
Palberta - Roach Goin’ Down (June 15)
Patrick Paige II - Letters of Irrelevance (May 18)
Perera Elsewhere - Drive (May 4)
Stuart Staples - Arrhythmia (June 15)
Young Thug - Hear No Evil (out now)

Sunday, April 1, 2018

Upcoming Album of the Week (Ending March 31)

And the saga of Once Upon a Time in Shaolin continues! In the wake of news that Martin Shkreli has been ordered to relinquish his singular copy of the Wu-Tang Clan album, RZA revealed that he tried to buy the album back, but his original contract for the sale of the record prevented it. Oh well! Hopefully, the album finds its way into the hands of someone who can appreciate it and, if it ever gets a wide release, be sure to check it out on my Upcoming Releases page!

This week, Cardi B announced her long-awaited debut album, Invasion of Privacy.

Cardi B started her career in 2015, releasing a couple of mixtapes and scoring a few features spots. She earned her first number one single in June of last year with "Bodak Yellow". While that remains her highest charting track, each single and feature spot since its release has also charted.

She first announced her debut album while accepting iHeartRadio's Best New Artist award earlier this month, but this week, we got the title, artwork, and official release date. Invasion of Privacy will be released on April 6!

Also announced this week:

77:88 - Jellies (July 6)
Angelique Kidjo - Remain in Light (June 8)
Garbage - Version 2.0 Reissue (June 22)
John Parish - Bird Dog Dante (June 15)
Jonny Greenwood - Bodysong Reissue (May 18)
Michael Feuerstack - Natural Weather (May 25)
Mount Kimbie - Love What Survives Remixes Part 1 (May 4)
Mount Kimbie - Love What Survives Remixes Part 2 (May 11)
Paul McCartney - Chaos and Creation in the Backyard Reissue (May 18)
Paul McCartney - NEW Reissue (May 18)
Paul McCartney - Thrillington Reissue (May 18)
Paul McCartney and Wings - Wings Greatest Reissue (May 18)
Stephen Malkmus and The Jicks - Sparkle Hard (May 18)
Sweet Valley - Eternal Champ II (April 20)
The Weeknd - Dear Melancholy, (out now)