Tuesday, April 17, 2018

Upcoming Album of the Week (Ending April 14)

I used to have the goal to hit every major music festival in the US, and maybe even a few abroad. Now, I prefer to stick with festivals hosted in my city (of which there are plenty!). Despite my change of priority, and my issues with the festival, Beyoncé makes a strong case for a future pilgrimage to Indio, CA for Coachella (provided she plays the fest again).

Praise is high for her recent performance there, so if a recording of it ever gets an official release, be sure to check it out on my Upcoming Releases page!

Last week, Arctic Monkeys announced their sixth album, Tranquility Base Hotel + Casino.

At their start, the band were a latter part of the post-punk revival of the mid-aughts, but have veered from that sound since their 2006 debut, Whatever People Say I Am, That Is What I Am Not. Their most recent record, 2013's AM, was the culmination of the change, with a psychedelic hard rock sound.

The band has been on hiatus since the end of their AM tour in 2014. During that time, we've gotten a second album from frontman Alex Turner's side project The Last Shadow Puppets, and drummer Matt Helders worked with Iggy Pop on his latest record.

The band announced their latest record on the fifth along with a trailer (no new songs, yet).

Also announced this week:

Arthur Buck - Arthur Buck (June 15)
Beak> - L.A. Playback (out now)
Bombino - Deran (May 18)
Chromeo - Head Over Heels (June 15)
Cold Cave - You & Me & Infinity EP (June 1)
Destroyer - City of Daughters Vinyl Reissue (May 25)
Destroyer - Thief Vinyl Reissue (May 25)
Dreams (June 15)
Gang Gang Dance - Kazuashita (June 22)
Gang of Four - Complicit (April 20)
Graceland - The Remixes (June 1)
The Horrors - “Fire Escape”/“Water Drop” (out now)
Jenny Hval - The Long Sleep (May 25)
Johnny Marr - Call the Comet (June 15)
Kamasi Washington - Heaven and Earth (June 22)
Kevin Krauter - Toss Up (June 15)
Knxwledge - Gladwement EP (out now)
Lion Babe - “The Wave” (out now)
Los Campesinos! - Hold on Now, Youngster… Vinyl Reissue (October 12)
Los Campesinos! - We Are Beautiful, We Are Doomed Vinyl Reissue (October 12)
LUMP - LUMP (June 1)
Melody’s Echo Chamber - Bon Voyage (June 15)
Oneohtrix Point Never - Age Of (June 1)
Palberta - Roach Goin’ Down (June 15)
Patrick Paige II - Letters of Irrelevance (May 18)
Perera Elsewhere - Drive (May 4)
Stuart Staples - Arrhythmia (June 15)
Young Thug - Hear No Evil (out now)

No comments:

Post a Comment