Saturday, March 10, 2018

Upcoming Album of the Week (Ending March 10)

David Byrne released a new album, American Utopia, this week and received some criticism for the complete lack of female collaborators. For his part, he issued a very sincere apology for the exclusion, noting that it doesn't fit with his past work (remember that amazing collaborative album with St. Vincent?) and recognizing his position to help uplift female voices.

Hopefully, he keeps this in mind with his future work; I, for one, would not mind a new album with St. Vincent! If that happens, look for it on my Upcoming Releases page!

This week, the glorious Neko Case announced her seventh solo album, Hell-On.

Case has had an over-two-decade long solo career, with amazing six albums. My favorite of hers remains the 2000 sophomore album Furnace Room Lullaby. She released her most recent solo record, The More I Love You... (the full title is much longer) in 2013, which landed at the number two spot for my favorite albums of that year.

She hasn't been quiet since that last record. Two years ago, she joined up with kd lang and Laura Veirs for case/lang/veirs and, last year, rejoined with The New Pornographers for Whiteout Conditions; both also incredible albums.

She announced her latest on Monday and released the title track the next day.

Hell-On is set to be released on June 1!

Also announced this week:

The Amazing - In Transit (April 6)
Beach House - 7 (May 11)
Ben Frost - All That You Love Will Be Eviscerated (March 23)
Buck Meek - Buck Meek (May 18)
Damien Jurado - The Horizon Just Laughed (July 6)
Grouper - Grid of Points (April 27)
Jon Hopkins - Singularity (May 4)
La Luz - Floating Features (May 11)
Lily Allen - No Shame (June 8)
Little Dragon - “Best Friends”/“Sway Daisy” (April 20)
Logic - Bobby Tarantino II (out now)
Maria Usbeck - “Bosque De Bambú” (out now)
Now, Now - Saved (May 18)
Quiet Slang - Everything Matters but No One Is Listening (May 18)
serpentwithfeet - soil (June 9)
Shamir - Resolution (out now)
TT - LoveLaws (May 18)
Van Morrison - You’re Driving Me Crazy (April 27)
Wand - Perfume (May 25)

No comments:

Post a Comment