Wednesday, December 1, 2010

Album annoucements!!

January and February are already starting to look like good months for me in terms of music. There were already a number of my favorite artists looking to release at the beginning of next year: Tapes n' Tapes, The Decemberists, Amos Lee, Iron & Wine & The Wombats, as well as many others. Within the past week or so, three more have announced albums for early next year.

PJ Harvey
Let England Shake
PJ Harvey, one of the '90's angry female rockers, released her last album, White Chalk, in 2007. Although her music has moved from her alternative rock sound to more piano-driven music, she has maintained the dark angry lyrics she is known for. This is in contrast to other angry '90's female rockers, I'm looking at you, Alanis Morissette, and something I appreciate about Harvey. The week of Thanksgiving, it was announced that her next album, Let England Shake, would be released on Feb. 15. Just looking at some of the track names, you can tell her dark spirit is still present.
  1. Let England Shake
  2. The Last Living Rose
  3. The Glorious Land
  4. The Words that Maketh Murder
  5. All and Everyone
  6. On Battleship Hilll
  7. England
  8. In the Dark Places
  9. Bitter Branches
  10. Hanging in the Wire
  11. Written on the Forehead
  12. The Colour of the Earth

"Written on the Forehead"

Dum Dum Girls
Here's a little more girl power for ya. I stumbled upon the Dum Dum Girls, named after an Iggy Pop song, by accident. I liked the cover art for the first album, I Will Be and decided to check it out. What I discovered is what I can only describe as "lo-fi Blondie." I had the chance to see them when they came to Bloomington to open for Vampire Weekend, which was great, even if the auditorium was still mostly empty and no one else seemed all that excited. Their upcoming EP, He Gets Me High will be coming out in early March and I can't wait.
  1. Wrong Feels Right
  2. He Gets Me High
  3. Take Care of My Baby
  4. There is a Light that Never Goes Out

"Jail La La" from their first album

Bright Eyes
Two summers ago, Conor Oberst of Bright Eyes stated that their next album would be their last. I don't know if that is still the case, but that next album has been announced. Oberst has worked with a revolving set of musicians in his Bright Eyes project and, this time, he's working with Nathanial Walcott and Monsters of Folk partner Mike Mogis. The album, The People's Key, is set to be released on February 15.
  1. Firewall
  2. Shell Games
  3. Jejune Stars
  4. Approximate Sunlight
  5. Haile Selassie
  6. A Machine Spiritual (In the People's Key)
  7. Triple Spiral
  8. Beginner's Mind
  9. Ladder Song
  10. One for You, One for Me

"Coyote Song," an Arizona boycott track for The Sound Strike

No comments:

Post a Comment