Saturday, February 20, 2016

Upcoming Album of the Week (Ending February 20)

I may only highlight one announcement each week, but much more gets announced on a regular basis. Be sure to view a list of upcoming releases here!

This week, one of my favorite Scottish bands, Frightened Rabbit, announced their fifth album, Painting of a Panic Attack.

The announcement came in an email that made me think, initially, that the band was breaking up. The subject line read "The beginning of letting go," which I read as fans needing to let go of the band, but it turned out it was the band letting go of their new music. I was much happier after realizing what they meant; I had loved Frightened Rabbit's last album, 2013's Pedestrian Verse and was excited for what might follow from them.

The new album follows 18 months of writing and editing, cutting 30 demos down to a final 12 tracks for the final record. Along with the announcement, the band released a new track, "Death Dream."

The album is set for release on April 8.

Also announced this week:

DOOMSQUAD - Total Time (April 29)
Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros - PersonA (April 15)
Eric Clapton - Still I Do (May 20)
Head Wound City - A New Wave of Violence (May 13)
John Frusciante - Foregrow EP (April 16)
Kelela - TBA (May)
Mayer Hawthorne - Man About Town (April 8)
Sky Ferreira - Masochism (summer)
Tim Moxam - Soft Summer (April 29)
Tokyo Police Club - Melon Collie and the Infinite Radness (Part 1) (April 8)
Yes We Mystic - Forgiver (April 29)

No comments:

Post a Comment