Saturday, January 28, 2017

Upcoming Album of the Week (Ending January 28)

There's a feeling of unease among many musicians around the promotion of new music considering our current political environment. Some are combatting that feeling by also releasing protest music. There are multiple ongoing projects underway that seek to respond to the Trump presidency and fight against it, as well as many artists who are donating portions of their album sales to charity. I will post my own list of these undertakings soon, but as always, my most anticipated new music can be viewed on my Upcoming Releases page.

This was a busy week, but one new album announcement that I'm especially looking forward to came from The New Pornographers, who announced their seventh album, Whiteout Conditions.

The New Pornographers were one of the first bands that could be considered an indie rock supergroup, and certainly the most prolific. The band is made up of an incredible slew of musicians who also all have amazing solo careers, including Kathryn Calder, A.C. Newman, Dan Bejar, Neko Case, and Todd Fancey (who released a new solo album just this week).

Their most recent record, Brill Bruisers, was released August of 2014. They seem to have wasted no time on the new record, despite new solo records from four members. Whiteout Conditions was announced on Friday, along with a new song, "High Ticket Attractions."

Whiteout Conditions is set to be released on April 7.

Also announced this week:

ANOHNI - Paradise EP (March 17)
City and Colour - “Peaceful Road”/“Rain” (March 3)
Father John Misty - Pure Comedy (April 7)
Fleetwood Mac - Tango in the Night Reissue (March 30)
Geotic - Abysma (March 31)
Goldfrapp - Silver Eye (March 31)
Guided By Voices - August By Cake (April 7)
Jacques Greene - Feel Infinite (March 10)
Jarvis Cocker & Chilly Gonzales - Room 29 (March 17)
Joe Goddard - Electric Lines (April 21)
Karriem Riggins - Headnod Suite (February 24)
Major Lazer - “Run Up” (out now)
Mastodon - Emperor of Sand (March 31)
Mew - Visuals (April 28)
Mount Eerie - A Crow Looked at Me (March 24)
No Joy - CREEP EP (February 24)
Omni - “Fever Bass”/“Thesis” (February 28)
PINS - Bad Thing EP (March 24)
Pond - The Weather (May 5)
Ray Davies - Americana (April 21)
Real Estate - In Mind (March 17)
Ronald Bruner, Jr. - Triumph (March 3)
SZA - CTRL (February 3)
Tei Shi - Crawl Space (March 31)
Thundercat - Drunk (February 24)

No comments:

Post a Comment