Saturday, December 5, 2015

Upcoming Album of the Week (Ending December 5)

Check out my Upcoming Releases page to see more of what's to come!

This week, Animal Collective, a band known for their mastery of experimental music announced their 10th album, Painting With.

The band has been fairly prolific both as a collective and individually. Together, they released their last album, Centipede Hz, in 2012, and followed that up with an EP, Monkey Been to Burn Town, the next year and a live album just a few weeks ago. Apart, Avey Tare released his first album as Avey Tare's Slasher Flicks, Enter the Slasher House, in 2013 and Panda Bear released Panda Bear Meets the Grim Reaper back in January. He's already followed that up with a couple of EPs.

The reason for all the solo projects was that the band felt exhausted after touring behind Centipede Hz, but one member of the band, Deakin, chose to sit this one out completely (he had rejoined the band to record Centipede Hz). The other three members band wrote and recorded the album over the first part of this year. Some lucky travelers have already gotten to hear the record; it was played over the speakers at the Baltimore Airport on November 25.

Painting With will be released for the rest of us on February 19.

Also announced this week:

Archy Marshall - A New Place to Drown (December 10)
Lucius - Good Grief (March 11)
M. Ward - More Rain (March 4)
Matmos - Why Pay More (out now)
Miike Snow - iii (March 4)
Nicolas Godin - Contrepoint US Release (February 26)
Wiki - Lil Me (December 7)

No comments:

Post a Comment