Saturday, March 19, 2016

Upcoming Album of the Week (Ending March 19)

New music doesn't always come without its controversy. PJ Harvey released a new song, and video, this week from her forthcoming album, The Hope Six Demolition Project. The song, titled "The Community of Hope," details her experience in Washington, D.C.'s Ward 7 and the housing projects there. It was met with criticism from council members in the neighborhood, who felt her portrayal was unfair. The album is coming soon and you can check it out, along with many others, on my Upcoming Releases page.

This week, British musician Shura, announced her debut album, Nothing's Real.

The artist has been building an impressive profile for herself over the past couple of years with a string of singles and a debut EP, White Light, last year. Her work so far has garnered her positive attention both from other artists, like Mumford & Sons and Talib Kweli, as well as some media powerhouses. The BBC shortlisted her for their Sound of 2015 poll.

After much anticipation and build up, she announced Nothing's Real for a July 8 release.

Also announced this week:

The Avett Brothers - True Sadness (June 24)
Belave - Indigo, Streams, Lash (out now)
Carlos Niño - Flutes, Echoes, It’s All Happening! (April 22)
Day of the Dead (May 20)
Kaytranada - 99.9% (May 5)
Layten Kramer - For the Sun (April 29)
MUNA - The Loudspeaker EP (May 6)
Sia - Colour the Small One Reissue (April 1)
Shit Robot - What Follows (May 6)

No comments:

Post a Comment